Annie Upside-Down


This is what I wrote back in 9th grade…The topic was fantasy… So I wrote about a girl who always daydream, and fantasize about her life… Some of the jokes might only apply to my school, for some certain teachers were similar to the story… There also a lot of allusions to many classic fairy tales and mythology…

*You can’t escape your reality through fantasy because in the end, they’re all your imagination and nothing has changed.*

~~~~~

     People say high school life is fun and exciting. I say it’s just plain hard! Nothing about high school is fun, but worries. You see, I’m not exactly the type of girl that boys would be dying to be around, nor the type that gets all the attention. And my studies, well, I’m doing okay with school. But I have to work my head off just to get an average grade. There is one problem, though. History. History class is just scary; it even haunts my dreams! I had to work so hard, and what did I get? Well, my highest grade in history was a C-.

“Annie! Annie… would you like to repeat my last sentence?” Mrs. Bone, my history teacher, suddenly says out loud in the middle of our class. This is her third time saying it in the last 30 minutes.  I must have been drifted away in my dream world, again.

“No,” I mumble in reply.

“No what?”She looks at me with her stern eyes.

“No, ma’am!” I reply reluctantly. “Sorry!” I add just in case she would burst out yelling at me.

“If you don’t want to stay after school for detention and copy a page of a dictionary, you better start paying attention!”She say, but how can I pay attention when I don’t get a word she said? Sometime, I can see two horns on her head with her red bloodshot eyes staring at me. I bet she is way older than the pyramids in Egypt.

Rrring…. saved by the bell. I’m so glad to get out of my class. As usual, the hallway is crowded, but no one seems to notice my existence. But soon, I’ll be finding that I’m so wrong. There is someone, or something, who always finds me standout in the crowd. My absolute nightmare, the bullies. Their leader is a redheaded girl named Clarisse. If you’ve seen what Rumplestilskin looked like, you wouldn’t be too shocked to see her. But she’s worse than that! Looking at her size and appearance, I wouldn’t be surprised if she turns out to be a Cyclops’s cousin. She looks more like a college student that a high school student; bet she’s at least five years older than me.

“Hey, look who’s coming! Isn’t it the weird Annie?” Clarisse says to her fellow worshippers. I’ve tried to ignore her and walk to my locker; big mistake. “Hey, you! I’m talking to you! What? Cat got your tongue, huh?”She yells at me.

“If only my fairy godmother is here, you’re toast!”I mumble.
“What did you say?”

Once, there was a rich girl named Annie. She was the fairest of all; she was really kind and funny. Everyone adored her. She had so many servants at her mansion; one in particular was an ugly, cyclop-like girl named Clarisse. Every day, Clarisse had to do what Annie told her to, no questions.

“Did you just ignore me? Or cat really got your tongue?”Said Clarisse mockingly in the midst of my fantasy. She should at least let me finish it first. She really can be mean in every way….

‘How can I ignore someone like you? You’re like a flying bee buzzing around my ears!”Oops. Where did those words ever coming from? Just me and my stupid big mouth….

“What? How dare you?”Said Clarisse, while pushing me hard against the lockers. I am as helpless as a drowning ant. She leans so close to me that I can almost count every one of her freckles. “If I catch you walking pass me again, you’re a dead meat!”She added with evilness in her voice.

  “Annie, I’ve finally found you!” Said JubJub, my fairy puffball, in excitements as she flies jet-speed toward me.

        “JubJub! I thought you were still in Fairyland!”I’m quite surprised to see her outside of Fairyland, especially at my school. Clarisse and her gang stare in disbelief. They should be scared of me, now. I mean, they have absolutely no idea who they are dealing with. Back in Fairyland, I was one of guidance princesses that were in charge of all the fairies there; I have magic powers. But it doesn’t work outside of Fairyland. Total bummer!

        “You look like you need some help, Princess!”Said JubJub with concern. Then, she turns to Clarisse and her friends, “You guys sure need some magic lessons! Now, which one do you prefer, turning into an ugly frog, or a big, fat caterpillar?”Clarisse’s eyes turn as big as the moon; they look like they’re going to drop out of the sockets. To my surprise, she just starts screaming her head off and runs away. This would really make my day!

“Why are you smiling? You’re not supposed to have fun around here!” Clarisse yells into my ears. This is her second time in five minutes ruining my perfect fantasy. I just keep quiet. “Let’s just go! She’s not fun anymore!”She tells her friends. She has absolutely no idea how glad I am for her to leave me alone.

“Hey, Annie! Are you going to the dance?” These are the first words that Stella, my best friend in the world, whispers to me as I sit in our table for Biology class.

“The dance? I don’t know… maybe!”I whisper back.

“You must go! It’s going to be fun!”She says in excitement, maybe with a little exaggeration in her voice. She has been talking about the dance since forever.

“Why would I want to go? No one asked me to go, yet. I mean, no guy is actually stupid enough to ask me!” I reply with pessimistic.

“What are you talking about? Of course someone will ask you! Cheer up!”

“Yeah, whatever! Unless that person was in a big car accident, and damaged his head!”

“Annie, your prince will bring his white horse searching for you. It’s just that he hasn’t found you, yet!” Stella tries to cheer my dull spirit, but we both know it’s impossible.

“Well, it would be nice if that really happens….”I think to myself.

  Once upon a time, there was a handsome young prince from the Kingdom of Faraway. He would travel wide and far in a search for his true love, but he never came across a fair maiden who would fill his heart. He looked everywhere, from house to house, but each time, he always came out in disappointment. As he was losing hope, he got to a broken, old well. Hopping out of his white horse, he sat on the edge of the well. He looked into the well, and saw an ugly frog. “I couldn’t find my bride-to-be, yet. I’m just an ordinary prince who will never get married.”He told the frog.

        “But yet, your story isn’t half as sad as mine. But I consider us both as the unfortunates,” the frog suddenly told the prince.

        “Are you or are you not a demon-possessed frog?” The prince asked in a shock.

        “No, prince! I was a fair maiden in this land, until my jealous step-mother and her two daughters used a spell to turn me into this unpleasant frog.” The frog told him.

        “What can I do to save you?” The prince asked.

        “I actually don’t know… but legends say a true love kiss would work….”

        The frog suddenly turned into a beautiful girl after that; the prince was amazed by her beauty. It was love at the first sight. They lived happily ever after. The End.

“Well, I hope my life will have a turning point like that! Lucky frog!” I smile to myself. “Someday, someone will see me for the real me….” I gently laugh to myself, but maybe the word gently is the wrong way to describe it because Stella turns to  look at me with a really confused expression.

“Hey! What’s up with those dreamy eyes? You do realize that this is biology, right?” She smiles her usual teasing smile.

“Yeah, duh! I was just thinking about our lesson!” I lie.

“Yeah, right!  I know you well enough to know that you were nowhere close to be paying attention. Come on, what is it this time? A fairy? Unicorn? Or that you suddenly turn into a princess?”

“It was nothing!”I lie again, but my smile cannot escape her watchful eyes.

“Come on, just spill it! I’m your best friend, right?”

“Fine, but not now. Maybe, I’ll tell you after class!”

After I told her, Stella is laughing so hard that I’m not sure if she can stop it. That laugh reminds me so much of the loony tune cartoons. “Come on. It can’t be that funny, is it?”It’s embarrassing. She has such a good sense of humor; it’s always fun to be around her, except when she teases me.

“A frog? You imagined yourself to be a frog? That is way funnier than when you imagined Mrs. Bone as an error talking machine that couldn’t do anything but talk all day!”

“Oh, that! Don’t even mention it; I got in trouble afterward, remember?”

“Yeah, it’s logical! You couldn’t even answer her simple question!”

“Hey, I was a lot more confused than Alice in Wonderland! She was talking so fast, even faster than Cinderella’s fairy god-mother reciting her spell! At that rate, Mrs. Bone could make seven more pumpkin chariots. And her lesson is a millions times more confusing than the Trojan War”.

“I think it’s just you and your wild imaginations!” Stella says matter of fact-ly. “You always let your imagination get in your way! In short words, you’re daydreaming too much!”

“I do not!”I ty to argue, but we both know who is right. “I only daydream when I have nothing to do!”

“If you count paying attention in class as nothing to do, you’re right!” She interrupts.

“Well, that… I was just too distracted….” I was never good at giving good reasons.

“Then, don’t get too distracted. You can’t live by your imaginations, can you?”Stella is always logical. She would have such a hard time figuring things out in Wonderland if she tries to be this logical.

Leave a Reply

